Cat on a Slab of Cement in the Fall

Leaves mount and rise against the stern
of my vessel. The days tumble
by as my compatriots sink into the soil.

A tail, my rudder, rests in a coil
around me. The ramparts crumble
against the crunch of their crisp spears.

My shield wilts and my helmet
presses into my skull. My battle cries
return to my ears unheard.

A host of the dead gird
my refuge, leering without eyes.
Autumn betrayed my company, my peace.

Note: This is inspired by a true story of a cat stranded in the middle of a yard of leaves. He just seemed so resolute against danger I couldn’t help but enshrine him in verse.

Leave a Reply

